One Little Word – 2009 Edition

Last year I discovered Ali Edwards’ concept of choosing a word for the year. One Little Word.

My word last year was JOY. I did my best to remember to find joy everywhere I could last year. I wasn’t perfect. Didn’t expect to be.  But I did choose joy specifically in some situations that made it easier to live in that situation. It was a good word for last year looking back. I needed to choose joy last year. There were several instances in which I was tested. Choosing joy wasn’t (and will never be) easy, but it is an idea that I want to continue to hold on to. It is so easy for me to get bogged down in the negative.

Now, I am ready to unveil my word for 2009.

WONDER.

Yeah, it’s kinda the focus of this blog. But, let me tell you how this all came about.

Back in November Party Boy and I went to a Casting Crowns concert for his birthday. He’s a big fan. At the concert, it was really neat that Mark Hall (the lead singer and main song writer) explained a little of the stories behind some of the songs. One of the songs that he did this for was “While You Were Sleeping.” In short, the song was inspired by the Christmas classic “O Little Town of Bethlehem.” It speaks of the fact that the greatest gift ever given arrived in Bethlehem and the city slept through it. The second verse speaks to the future return of Christ and whether America will sleep through that. It’s a very powerful song and quickly found its way into Itunes.

The Sunday before Christmas we had a special Christmas lesson and we were able to use that song as part of the lesson. And one of our co-teachers was talking about how so often when amazing things were happening in the Bible that people were sleeping, and she had written in her Bible “Am I sleeping through life’s miracles?” Oooooooh,  good question.

So, as I was pondering what word I wanted I kept coming back to this song and those words. And as I reflected I realized that in so many ways I have lost that natural sense of wonder. The wonder that I see in my kids everyday. Oh, I so want that back. I want to stop seeing the world through cynical eyes. I want to quit sleeping through life’s little (and sometimes really BIG) miracles.

So my word for 2009 is WONDER. I want to feel the wonder in what is going on around me. To see the world with new eyes and marvel in the little wonders all around me.

I would love to know if you have a word for 2009…

5 thoughts on “One Little Word – 2009 Edition

  1. Jennifer says:

    My theme is Time. When I signed up for an Alli Edwards giveaway, it was Create, but then on NY Day it hit me that it should be time because that was the word bouncing around in my head all day.

    I didn’t do it last year, but my NY goal was to be more purposeful in saying Yes to opportunities that came my way, so I guess my word last year was Yes.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Okay, and have you seen this blog?
    http://www.scrappingthemusic.blogspot.com/

    I had in my ideas folder to start scrapping some of my favorite music, and am actually using it in my 365 title page layout. But someone else thought of it and made a whole blog about it.

    There’s so much creativity out there! My brain can’t handle it!

  3. […] her blog she posted this post and since I have read it I haven’t stopped thinking about it.  In case you didn’t […]

  4. Ginger says:

    I really love this idea and it has stuck with me since I read your post. My word for 2009 is…

    GROW

    I wrote a long post about it on my blog.

Talk to me!

