I Believe in Miracles.

Why? Because I witnessed a (albeit, minor) one today.

If they were still accepting submissions for the Bible I would write up something. Alas, you will just have to read it here.

You see the miracle took place on my kitchen floor. We were blessed cursed with lovely hideous white linoleum in our kitchen. You know what I am talking about. Contractors love it cause they can buy it in bulk rolls and use it to make a profit. It’s nice and clean and sterile looking for new homebuyers that don’t know any better. Sometimes, in my dreams nightmaresI think I can hear the builder of our house cackling…but, I digress.

After 9 years of hard use our poor kitchen floor was looking…well, grim. And I don’t mean just a little used. I mean, I should have posted these pictures on Friday cause it’s the 13th and it’s just that scary. See, don’t believe the lies that 1. housework should be easier in the 21st century, and 2. that  is anything such as a no build-up floor cleaner. The black spots in the picture? Yeah, that’s layers of no build up floor cleaner trapping filth and dirt in between them.

Brace yourself.

Ewwwww!

Ewwwww!

That white spot is where the cleaner had already started to work.

The build-up was gradual of course. And it has just been in the last 6 months or so that I really started to notice and be bothered by it. What I was noticing was that there were weird black stains in every area of my kitchen floor that wasn’t a major walkway. The walk ways stayed pretty clean looking. It was confusing because in my mind I should have been seeing the opposite effect. Dirt should be building up in high traffic areas. What I didn’t realize was that in the high traffic areas the wax was being worn away  so that when I would mop again I was actually applying wax to the linoleum. But everywhere else the wax was drying and hardening trapping dirt and yuck underneath it.

So the journey began. I tried mopping more often. I tried scrubbing the floor by hand. I tried Mr. Clean Magic Erasers fercryinoutloud! Nothing was budging this stuff.

But today. Today the miracle. At the grocery store last night I stumbled across the large tubs of OxyClean. And a lightbulb went off.

If OxyClean can take grape juice stains out of carpet maybe it can get those black spots off my linoleum!

And boy did it. Here’s the after –

YAY! Clean!

YAY! Clean!

The secret is this:

1. Mix up your OxyClean and a bucket of HOT water. I used three scoops of Oxy.

2. Apply a generous coating of the Oxy water to floor. Let sit 5-10 minutes.

3. Mop vigorously. Seriously work up a sweat. You will see the gunk melting off of your floor.

4. After you Oxy mop your floor go back and do a clean water rinse.

Voila! Clean foors!

Love it…

And please don’t judge me. I have been trying!!

2 thoughts on “I Believe in Miracles.

  1. shirley says:

    Oh, I think I need to go out and buy some OxyClean. For my Tile floor. Same problem – dirt and grime build up.

  2. Nadya says:

    WOW! What an awesome tip… 🙂
    Thanks! Now I too need to go out and get some OxyClean…. How cool that it worked so nice!!!! Way to go!!! 🙂
    Nadya

Talk to me!

