The Narcissism of Blogging

I went to see Julie & Julia this weekend. As a way to pass an afternoon it was good. As a movie, I feel like at least one of the reviews I read nailed it – the Julia Child portions were nothing short of magical. The Julie parts? Blech.

I won’t be doing any kind of synopsis, but the premise is that Julie is a modern young woman who starts a blog to catalog her attempt to cook every recipe in the Art of French Cooking that was co-authored by Julia Child. Meanwhile, you also see the process of Julia Child becoming, well, the Julia Child we all know and love!

By the end of the movie, the Julie sections just annoyed me and I found myself wishing that we could have spent more time with Julia. And I think I have finally figured out why I was annoyed with Julie and loved Julia. Julie annoyed me because she started her project and her blog because she couldn’t think of anything better to do. Julia was motivated by her love of cooking and food.

I always feel like it is far more interesting to learn about someone who loves what they do than to learn about someone who started something because when they gazed into their navel they only saw lint.

Anyway, after watching this movie I was bombarded by news reports and articles about how social networking and blogging are the ultimate in narcissism. Because, after all, why should anyone else care about me or my family, right?

After mulling this over, I think that the answer depends on why you participate in social networking or blogging. For those that start a blog simply to get rich or land a book deal? If that was their motivation? Maybe that’s a tad narcissistic. But I would like to think that the vast majority of bloggers are like me…blogging for a record, or a journal, if you will, of their lives. I use my blog to note fun things we’ve done, places we’ve been, and funny conversations. Some of these posts become journaling on a scrapbook page, or at the least a jumping off point. So, the blog is for me. And for my family and friends to keep up with us. Not for a book deal (though I would consider a great offer… ;P) or to attract masses of strangers.

Anyway. I just hate that bloggers have been taking such a hit lately. I think there is so much wisdom, advice, and knowledge available in the blogosphere it would be sad to see people stop participating because they have been accused of being a narcissist.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “The Narcissism of Blogging

  1. Donna Miller says:

    Amen!! I’m with you girl!!

  2. shirley says:

    You are so right – I find so much great content in blogs that I wouldn’t have otherwise and am very grateful for those authors. Even if they are just blogging for themselves.

Talk to me!

