A Lesson in Procrastination

All week I have been asking the girls to pick up their bedroom. Since Monday.

And every day, when I would prod, they would reply, “We’ll do it tomorrow.”

And I reminded them that if it wasn’t done that the fun stuff we had planned on Friday wouldn’t be happening.

And they would reply, “We’ll do it tomorrow.”

And then Friday came. And I reminded them that today was the deadline and it had to be done.

And they replied “We’ll do it in a little bit.”

And I shrugged and hoped that they would.

They didn’t. In fact they started 5 minutes before the deadline. And they missed their fun activities.

There was crying and disappointment all around.

I know this won’t be the only time that their procrastination will make them miss out.

I still think it was a good lesson.

Tagged , ,

Talk to me!

