Happiness Is…

…a clean room.

I spent all day Sunday cleaning the girls room. I don’t do this very often, but every time I do I get more ruthless in what goes out of the house. They don’t like it, and I don’t like doing it, but sometimes it seems like there is no other way. Their room just gets so out of control – kids meal toys, trinkets, trash, junk, etc. piles up until they can hardly breathe.

They come by it honestly. Pack-ratting is a daily struggle for me. Clutter builds up.

This week I sat them down and we had a heart to heart about clutter. I explained (again) the concept of “a place for everything and everything in its place.” Will they get it this time? Who knows…

We have 3 yard bags of things for Goodwill and 2 yard bags of trash. That is 5 thirty-three gallon bags of stuff out of their room. 165 gallons of stuff.

We also took the label-maker in there. One of the favorite excuses of late has been, “But I don’t know where it goes!” Not anymore. Every drawer is neatly labelled. A place for everything and all that.

They’re in there now playing with their American Girl dolls. Something they haven’t been able to do for a while – partly because there was no floor space and partly because they couldn’t find anything.

It’s all better now.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Happiness Is…

  1. Donna Miller says:

    Hang In There!! It’s just the beginning.

Talk to me!

