Beautiful Weather

It occurred to me that spring really is just around the corner. The weather feels spring-like. It’s teasing though. I know it. There will be more freezing to come.

It’s time to start planning outside work in earnest. There’s cleaning out the front flower beds. I’d like to find a way to incorporate vegetables up there, but I don’t know of any way to make them attractive. Underneath the tree I need to dig out the bulbs that we do NOT like and prep the bed for the candytuft that we hope to sprout from seed soon. Cutting back the lantana is one of my least favorite jobs. The stems are woody and have itchy spines similar to okra, but it needs to be done.

We cleaned up the backyard to prep for the flea spraying, but I do need to dig out the vegetable bed and mix in some fresh compost. I also need to do some research and see what it would take to build a sand box under the playset. It would need to be covered against the feral (and neighbors) cats in the area, but as much as Captain Chaos loves to dig I’d like for him to have a place to do that.

And the big job – I need to dig out the grass on the side of the house where we’ll be putting two additional garden beds. I need to measure and mark everything out and  get to work. Not looking forward to that – at all. I am, however, looking forward to the extra space to grow even more veggies in 2010.

Hurry up spring!

Tagged ,

Talk to me!

