Self-Pity Never Works Out in My Favor

Since I had my wisdom teethe removed I haven’t been eating much in the way of solid foods, or what we have started calling “chewing foods.” I’ll be honest. It put me in a heck of a funk. I want a hamburger, I want chips and salsa, I want “normal” food. I had forgotten to adjust to my new normal.

So, anyway, last night I was crying to Party Boy about how miserable I am with all of this. It was a real pity party. Poor miserable me. I went to bed miserable.

Because I am still taking small doses of pain medicine I have gotten used to waking up every 4-5 hours for the next dose. I woke up this morning at 4 a.m. to take a dose and couldn’t get back to sleep. Access Hollywood was on the TV and I couldn’t find the remote, so I was stuck watching it. And then I got hit over the head with my own self-pity stick.

Roger Ebert, of Siskel and Ebert fame, hasn’t been able to speak for four years after his battle with thyroid cancer. He lost much of his throat and jaw and tongue to the disease. But what killed me, and made me adjust my attitude was the side-note to the story that he hasn’t eaten in that time either. He is fed a “paste like food” through a tube that goes directly into his stomach. He’ll never eat or speak again.

Me? In a few weeks I’ll be back to normal. I’ll eat a hamburger and french fries. My mouth will stop aching. But Roger Ebert doesn’t have that to look forward to.

It was a good reminder that no matter how bad things are, someone is always worse off than you are. That was pretty much a direct quote from Roger Ebert. I think that’s a pretty amazing attitude.

Just like the people of Israel wandering in the desert and whining about eating manna instead of fish, I was whining about what I couldn’t have instead of recognizing the blessing of what I already have right in front of me.  I guess I needed that reminder. Again.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Self-Pity Never Works Out in My Favor

  1. Mary says:

    That was great Candy….isn’t it amazing the ways God uses to talk to us? :o)

Talk to me!

