A Day In the Life

This will be a long, tedious blog post. Feel free to skip it if you’d like! I actually documented everything I did today. Well, not potty breaks, but most everything else. It’s something I have wanted to do for a while. Just to see what I do all day. And I think it will be interesting to see if any schedules or routines change over time.

March 22, 2010

12:15 a.m. Finish watching Celebrity Apprentice and settle down to sleep on the couch. With the heater not working we sleep in the living room where the fireplace keeps things warm. Wouldn’t have been up this late except that we each had a 3 hour nap yesterday afternoon. Whoops.

7:00 a.m. Alarm on phone goes off. Roll over and shut it off, turn on news to see weather. Instead get soundbites from congress. Grumble about lies and cheats and wait for the eather to come on.

7:04 a.m. Alarm in bedroom goes off. Stumble in to shut it off. Notice kids sleeping under down comforter in my bed. Smart kids.

7:05 a.m. Weather comes on. Looks like it will be a good week – weather wise. Weather immediately followed by more coverage of        healthcare bill passage and the state of Virginia filing suit. Silently hope for success for the Commonwealth.

7:45 a.m. Party Boy goes to get showered. I head to kitchen to start coffee and make my breakfast. I also pack a lunch for Party Boy and print off our daily calendar/schedule. Review the schoolwork for the day.

7:50 a.m. Eat breakfast and read the paper.

8:00 a.m. Clean up pillows and blankets from couch. Turn off news as constant soundbites are annoying me.

8:10 a.m. Send Party Boy off to work. Enjoy 5 more minutes of peace. Feed the fish. They love me.

8:15 a.m. Rouse kids from my bed. Send them off to get dressed/play and make my bed.

8:16 a.m. Break up argument over who knows what.

8:17 a.m. Remind girls that we have to leave soon for CCs gym class.

8:18 a.m. Yes, the dishwasher is clean. For the fourth time.

8:19 a.m. Find Captain Chaos and wrangle him for a diaper change and clothing.

8:25 a.m. Pour Cheerios for CCs breakfast and research eczema treatment suggested by friend.

8:40 a.m. Realize that I got distracted by email and Facebook. Close computer and vow to get to work.

8:50 a.m. Send girls to brush hair and teeth and pack books for gym class. Pick up wayward cheerios.

8:55 a.m. Load jeans into washer. Notice that towels need folding. Get distracted by dog scratching to go out.

8:56 a.m. Break up fight over who owns which brush.

9:00 a.m. Finish coffee and load dishes into the sink. Hope they won’t sit there all day.

9:05 a.m. Read daily Bible reading as provided by church. Discuss for 30 seconds before blank stares follow.

9:15 a.m. Call for last chance to pack books and check diaper bag supplies.

9:25 a.m. Shut off TV again (who turned it back on anyway?!?) and load kids into the truck.

9:30 a.m. En route to the gym.

9:45 a.m. Class begins. CC doesn’t want to participate. Then I have a flash of brilliance and threaten to chase him. He goes right in and is rewarded with tickles and a chase. Girls settle in to do seat work. They mostly watch class.

10:15 a.m. We leave class with no stamp as CC pitches a fit over leaving the stuffed animals there. Sigh deeply. Count to 10.

10:25 a.m. Load kids into truck and drive to CVS to locate eczema lotion.

10:35 a.m. Determine that our CVS doesn’t carry that particlar lotion and head to itch relief aisle. Pick out another eczema itch relief to try and also Children’s Zyrtec to stop the drainage on CCs nose and eyes. Get reminded that I promised to buy mo-mo candies (M&M’s) by CC.

11:00 a.m. Arrive at home. Supervise cleaning out of truck. Can’t lose the schoolbooks!

11:05 a.m. CC settles in with Legos after a dose of Zyrtec and eczema lotion and a mo-mo chaser. Girls sit down to work on math a little while longer.

11:06 a.m. Check garden. Spinach is up. So are the peas and onions.

11:15 a.m. Check email and make a few replies.

11:20 a.m. Read William Wilberforce and Moccasin Trail out loud. Answer questions about slavery  and difference between misdemeanor and felonies. Tough subjects today!

11:55 a.m. Start making lunch – turkey and cheese sandwiches and cheetos. Wonder if it makes me a bad person that I am hoarding the last two sodas in the house for myself.

12:00 p.m. Kids know the drill. Turn on Sesame Street on the DVR and complain about “boring shows” and uselessness of pledge drives by PBS. They sit down and eat. I stand around looking interested until they are done so they won’t ask for some of my coke.

12:30 p.m. Sandwiches are done. Mo-mos being consumed as promised. Drink hoarded Coke with my lunch. Pretend not to hear questions about what I am drinking.

12:40 p.m. Shift jeans to dryer and start load of lights. Check Netflix queue to make sure something I want is coming in exchange for movies going back.

12: 50 p.m. Chase CC back into kitchen with his cup of milk. Clear the table of newspaper and take out recycling.

12:55 p.m. Send MOTS to read assigned reading. Hollywood and CC finishing mo-mo candies. Shoo dog away from trash can.

1:00 p.m. Turn off TV and get Hollywood started on reading, hope we can finish her book eventually! Think about how much more glamourous this feature is in the magazines.

1:05 p.m. Hollywood announces that she can not find her current reader. She was so close to finishing it too. Rather than waste who knows how long looking for it I pull out another reader. She looks disappointed.

1:10 p.m. While CC plays legos we start reading.

1:55 p.m. Hollywood finishes 9 pages of her reader. Yay!

2:00 p.m. Diaper change and rest time for CC. Hollywood does copywork and MOTS finishes her math. I call for a hair appointment.

2:10 p.m. Hollywood shows off her completed schoolwork. MOTS works on grammar. We’re learning verb tenses this week. I say “we” literally. I learned all about perfect tense today. Go me!

2:15 p.m. We discuss verb tense. I am trying to clear up questions. MOTS starts filling in a chart of all tenses.

2:16 p.m. Narrowly avert tears in trying to understand simple tenses.

2:20 p.m. Work begins in earnest on verb tense chart.

2:40 p.m. Chart is complete. Hollywood brings another book to read! Wow. She is wanting to read of her own free will now. Could this be progress?

2:45 p.m. Listening to a rousing reading of “Bears In The Night.” Love that book. The kids do too. The front cover has been loved right off of the book. Captain Chaos is singing “Twinkle Twinkle Wittle Stawr” instead of sleeping. At least he is not crying.

2:55 p.m. MOTS and Hollywood bring in Braum’s Book Buddy coupons for filling out.

3:00 p.m. Send girls outside to play hopscotch in the driveway and I open the wnidows. Start thinking about dinner.

3:02 p.m. Pull steak out of freezer to thaw. We’ll have french fries and corn to go with.

3:05 p.m. Get jeans out of dryer. Load lights into dryer and fire it up. Cringe at how much energy that uses. Load darks and set delay timer. They’ll finish right before I get up in the morning.

3:08 p.m. Check mail. Shake head at receiving further instruction to mail back the census that I mailed a week ago.

3:10 p.m. Start sorting and hanging jeans. Fold towels. Look for something on TV to watch while I deal with laundry.

3:30 p.m. Laundry folded and put away. Turn off CSI rerun and unload dishwasher. Check on CC in his room. He has passed out behind his bed. I try to rouse him, but he rolls over and goes back to sleep. I sneak out.

3:40 p.m. Diswasher is re-loaded. MOTS comes in with a full count of what’s sprouting in the garden. I start wiping down the kitchen. Get bucket and mop. Sweep. Where do all these crumbs come from?

4:00 p.m. Floor is mopped. I tried out my new favorite cleaner – Mrs. Meyer’s Lemon Verbena. Yummy smelling stuff.

4:05 p.m. Banned girls to the backyard while the floor dries. Sit down to watch a DVRd rerun of CSI:Miami (we didn’t watch when they were original) and sew on the stocking some.

4:50 p.m. Call Party Boy to ask about paperwork stuff.

5:00 p.m. Start oven for french fries and to pre-heat the steak before finishing it off under the broiler. Party Boy would grill it, but I hate our grill and it scares me, so I broil.

5:10 p.m. Put fries and steak in oven. Put frozen corn on the cob in a pot.

5:15 p.m. Chaos awakes and goes outside to play. No goop on his eyes post-nap, so the Zyrtec appears to be helping. This is good news! I set up the DVR to tape a couple of new shows this week. Yes, Dad, we added “Rules of Engagement.” Turn it to Holmes on Homes on HGTV.

5:20 p.m. Back in the kitchen to putter and check some blogs and forums. Big discussion is the Healthcare bill. Blech. I am so done with the debate. Nobody seems willing to hear the other side at. all.

5:30 p.m. Cruise over to Facebook. Same there.

5:31 p.m. Start corn boiling. Vow to skip news tonight and tomorrow morning probably. Good thing the Mac has pretty accurate weather forecasting skillz.

5:35 p.m. Pull CC off the lego storage tub that he is using to try and climb to the top of the window. Don’t know why he wants up there. Trip over dog going back to the kitchen.

5:40 p.m. Take a moment to revel in the fact that I will be getting a haircut and color on Thursday. It’s only been on my calendar to get done for 6 weeks. The schedule would just never work out.

5:42 p.m. Praise a lovely Lego sculpture. Apparently it is a Lego wig based on how he is carrying it. He drops it before I can snap a picture. Darn!

5:45 p.m. Sit down to finish watching Holmes on Homes.

6:05 p.m. Dinner’s ready! Kids take theirs out to the porch to eat. I eat inside and read. It’s nice to have a quiet meal!

6:30 p.m. I’m done. Hop online while the kids are still playing outside. Tell dog to stop bumping the walls to let me know she wants out with the kids.

6:40 p.m. Clear the table. Easy-peasy. Watch House Hunters International. Amazing what crap will sell in France for $500k US. Yuck!

7:00 p.m. Kids come inside looking for cookies. They take the whole bag. Little monsters. 🙂

7:15 p.m. CC comes in for his nightly bath and Hollywood brings in dishes. Dog tries to climb into the playhouse via the rock wall to get at the crumbs.

7:25 p.m. Dry off CC and apply coconut oil. Into jammies and off to play. I write blog post for Funny Farm.

7:40 p.m. Start loading dirty dinner dishes into the dishasher. Wipe everything down.

8:00 p.m. Clean up living room. Track down all the Legos. Take out the trash.

8:15 p.m. Sew on stocking and watch more HGTV. Saving the good DVRd stuff for later to watch so I can fast-forward through commercials.

8:45 p.m. Chase kids out of my bedroom after they trashed it and CC climbed up and perched on my headboard.

9:00 p.m. CC watches one last 15-minute cartoon before bed. Listen to him sing along.

9:15 p.m. CC in bed. Girls get 15 and 30 minute warnings. I check email and make note of a meeting on the calendar.

9:20 p.m. Finish watching Human Target on DVR. Sit down again, but realize I need to check the toy room progress and jump back up. Remind girls to clean. Quietly.

9:30 Send Hollywood to bed. She complains. She stalls. She whines about the injustice of it all. I count to 20.

9:45 p.m. Both girls in bed. I start watching Big Bang Thoeory.

10:05 p.m. Head to bed myself. I’m tired!

Tagged

One thought on “A Day In the Life

  1. Cara says:

    I am J.O’s aunt, found you from her blog and wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed looking through your digital scrap section… I just started that recently and love all the ideas! Oh, and I’m a foodie too!

Talk to me!

