Cleaning out the pantry week.

It happens. I hope it happens to more people than just me. 🙂

I follow e-mealz, which is incredibly handy. I love the simplicity of having 7 days of dinners and a grocery list already made up for me. Less work. Less effort. Just go to the store and buy the ingredients. Only sometimes we unexpectedly go out. Or someone (Party Boy) decides he’d rather have tacos and some of the ingredients get cannibalized for that.

At any rate, I have stuff in my pantry, ingredients from past meal plans, that has been sitting there and needed using. So I chose this week to start trying to use them up.

Tonight I made my own version of lasagna –

I just saute’d a pound of ground beef with some onion and garlic and boiled up some egg noodles. I poured the egg noodles in a casserole dish and covered them with a mixture of cottage cheese (about a cup), 8 ounces of cream cheese, softened, a little sour cream, and a little shredded parmesan. Then I added one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and some chopped tomatoes to the beef, stirred it all together and poured that on top of the noodles.

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

The kids loved it. It was tasty and more importantly, cleared some space out of the pantry, fridge and freezer. It’s a skill I feel I need to cultivate, since I want to be better at cooking/using what is coming out of our garden this summer in lieu of store-bought fruits and veggies. Cook with what you’ve got…

Tagged , ,

Talk to me!

