June Round-Up

Rounding up the events of June 2010

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

Martha Stewart Living

Mary Jane’s Farm

These are all linked to Amazon on this page.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

Glee, State of Play, 2012, The Box, Ken Burns The Civil War, Whale Wars, Old Dogs, Where the Wild Things Are, Couples Retreat, The Librarian: Quest for the Spear, Brothers, Surrogates, Grown-ups

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We attended a birthday party for my cousin’s son and also for my one-time daycare friend. We joined Party Boy at his hotel a couple of times to take advantage of the pool. We made a huge father’s day sign on the front sidewalk in chalk. We started a giant collection of silly bandz (I think they’re breeding). Worked our church’s Vacation Bible School with the most amazing class of 3rd graders ever. 🙂 Spent a long weekend touring Chicago with Party Boy. We also joined the community pool (awesome!).

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Birthday month! Trip to Chicago. Photoshop CS5. Dinner out on the big day. Movie date night. Pretty spectacular!

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Soft-sided cooler for the pool. Socks from Little MissMatched. 🙂

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Just more dental fun. <sigh>

What were my accomplishments this month?

I started scrapping again. Oh, how I have missed that. I even made my goal in a scrapping challenge I started at a scrapbooking forum.

What were my disappointments this month?

None really.

Anything else noteworthy to include?

I haven’t told this story yet, but it’s good, so I’ll include it here. One of the things that we wanted to do in Chicago was go to the Skydeck in the Willis (Sears) Tower. They have these cool glass boxes that hang out the side of the building so you can walk out and look down. Cool!

While we were there a storm blew in and we watched it from the 103rd floor. Lightning, wind, and huge rain drops made a pretty cool show. Earlier in the day on the Architectural Tour they had told us that the building was designed to sway up to three feet in any direction to withstand the high winds that high up. During the storm the building was swaying hard enough to make me seasick!

At one point, we noticed that the line for the elevator was getting pretty long. Understandable, really. It’s an express elevator to the 103rd floor. We figured it would be running soon. We got in line and waited about 15 minutes before they invited to take the stairs down to the 99th floor to catch a regular elevator out.

We went down and waited in a line there for about 15 minutes until building security invited us to start walking down the stairs if we wanted out anytime soon. 99 floors. Ugh.

On the 69th floor we got pulled out because the elevators were running again. Or so they said. We stood around for awhile and then decided to get back on the stairs.

At the 58th floor we ran into a security guy who led us through a law office to working elevators and we were able to get out that way. When we got downstairs there were security guards everywhere. The building was surrounded by fire trucks and police cars. Huh?!? Then we were ushered quickly out of the building as it was being evacuated!

On the walk back to the hotel we had to take several alternate routes, even once down an alley, as the roads were closed. Turns out, high winds had knocked out some glass in some of the high-rises.

When we got back and turned on the television, we found out that the storm we had been watching from the 103rd floor was the worst storm to hit Chicago in almost 10 years. And there we were, the crazy Texans, with our faces pressed up against the glass…

I guess if there’s no tornadic activity we just don’t panic that easily…

Talk to me!

