October 6, 2010, in more detail than you really want.

5:30 a.m. My eyes fly open. I am not sure why I am wide awake at this ungodly hour. It may be the dog’s snoring, or it may be the weird screech/buzz coming from the TV. That’ll teach me to fall asleep watching “Teen Mom” on MTV. Turn the TV off and roll over to try to go back to sleep.

5:45 a.m. I can’t wait any longer. I am not falling back asleep and I have to go to the bathroom. I sneak around the sleeping dog and into the bathroom without him stirring. Then I sneak back to bed to make one last attempt at falling asleep. Success! The dog does not get up.

6:00 a.m. Sleep still eludes me. I give up and turn the TV back on and watch the morning news. I hate that the big story of the day requires showing the same graphic video of a woman being slammed face-first into a wall by a DPS officer. It’s horrible, we get it. Quit showing the video.

6:10 a.m. Watch the weather. It’s going to be another gorgeous fall day.

6:15 a.m. Still not sleepy. Start coffee and put bagel in the toaster. Go get the paper.

6:19 a.m. Breakfast is served. Read the front page and the editorial section. Roll eyes at stupidity from all capitals. Wonder if the Founding Fathers were still alive if they’d say it sounded like a good idea at the time. Laugh to myself. Decide that alternatives are much worse. We may have a flawed system, but it is better than so many others.

6:30 a.m. Shower

6:45 a.m. Dressed and watching the news again. See the list of the hottest toys of the season. Lame, lame, lame, kinda cool, lame, lame, waste of money, and my kids will totally want that.

7:00 a.m. Fire up the computer. Check email. Sale! Daily Bible Reading. SALE! Spam from Nigeria offering me millions of dollars for my help. REALLY AWESOME SALE! Reminders about kids upcoming holiday camps.

7:05 a.m. Fire up Photoshop to finish Disney Organizer pages. Surf over to the DISBoards to catch up on the latest debate about the Monorail – attraction or viable transportation option? Think we should take the boats.

7:25 a.m. Dogs notice I am up. Start whining to go outside.

7:30 a.m. Dogs want back in. They both start doing the hungry dance around their food bowls.

7:32 a.m. Feed dogs. Marvel at how Beefcake has overcome the need for me to stand with him while he eats. Having another dog in the house cured that habit quickly as he realized that food doesn’t get left laying around for long. Consider renaming him Hoover. He begs for seconds.

7:35 a.m. Start load of laundry. Fold clothes from dryer.

7:38 a.m. Dog sits on my foot in a vain attempt to coax a second helping of kibble out of me.

7:45 a.m. Sit down to read blogs.

7:46 a.m. Dogs want out. Of course.

7:48 a.m. Dogs want in.

8:00 a.m. New toys for Christmas 2011 featured on the news. Junk, lame, lame, really lame, okay, and passable. Are there no new ideas in toy-dom?

8:01 a.m. Turn channel to HGTV to avoid being subjected to vicious video again. Turn off TV altogether.

8:02 a.m. Find iPod, restart Paperclipping Digi Show from last night. Unload dishwasher and clean up my breakfast dishes. Get stuff out for kids to eat. These three are eating machines.

8:20 a.m. Go to wake kids up. Captain Chaos is sleeping in the hallway. Again. Girls aggravated at being woken. I shrug and tell them that I know they were still up at 11 when I checked on them. That was their choice, not my problem. Lots of grumbling and dragging of feet.

8:30 a.m. I set the timer with an announcement that school starts in 30 minutes whether or not they’ve eaten breakfast. Suddenly they are moving faster.

8:35 a.m. I notice that Ali Edwards is posting about December Daily planning. This makes me happy. December Daily is one of my favorite projects of the year. It makes me itch to plan too, but Christmas kits aren’t coming out just yet. Everyone is so focused on fall. Bother!

8:50 a.m. Finally finish the last planner page for my Disney journal/planner. I have all of the details but the tickets taken care of. This is a happy thing. I always feel better when all of the reservation numbers are written down, the itenerary is done, and details are planned for any vacation, but it seems especially important when Disney is the destination. I make a note to assemble the last autograph book today.

9:00 a.m. Timer goes off. Girls clear table and head to the office to do school work. Captain Chaos finishes his sandwich and moves to the playroom to build with Legos. He focuses intently on building a road.

9:05 a.m. Let the whining commence.

9:06 a.m. MOTS is settled into a new book for reading and Hollywood is focused (?) on her math. No new concepts today, so it’s fairly straight-forward.

9:10 a.m. Captain Chaos wants orange juice.

9:12 a.m. Hollywood needs help with counting money.

9:30 a.m. Remind MOTS that she has other work besides reading. She heaves a great big sigh to let me know how put-upon she is and gets out her math book. No new concepts for her either. Yay!

9:32 a.m. I knew getting up at 5:30 was a mistake. Energy is waning. I really want to go take a nap.

10:00 a.m. Listen to Hollywood read. Fighting the desire to lay my head on the desk for a snooze.

10:15 a.m. Hollywood wraps up her assignment and heads off to look at some science books on the human body, our current area of study. Captain Chaos comes and asks me to build his Lego house. The Lego house I have been working on for 3 days now.

10:25 a.m. We start work re-sorting the Legos that got scrambled when someone stepped in the bowls that we use to sort them.

10:50 a.m. I start building after pulling the instructions up on my computer. That’s a nifty feature of Lego.com that you can look up and download instructions for you Lego sets. All of our instructions were lost in the great toddler rampage of Spring 2010.

11:00 a.m. Caillou is over (I hate that show, but if it starts, we have to finish *sigh*) and we turn off the TV. I start Live365.com up and switch to DISRadio. Seems to be Western Days on the DIS as we hear classics like “Happy Trails,” “Yipee-Ki-Yi-Yay Get Along Little Doggies,” and “The Country Bear Hoe-Down.” Good times.

Noon MOTS remarks at the time and asks to go make lunch. I say “Sure!” and she, Hollywood, and Captain Chaos take off to the kitchen to make sandwiches for lunch.

12:30 p.m. I am in the homestretch with the LEGO house. We seem to have lost several pieces, so I sub them out with another color brick. Nobody notices or cares.

12:40 p.m. DONE! I am triumphant over Medieval Lego House #1. Captain Chaos is thrilled about his new house and settles in to play while I go to the kitchen to get lunch.

12:45 p.m. Turkey and cheddar sandwich on OatNut Bread with pita chips and roasted garlic hummus. I drink water. Health concious? No. Too lazy to make tea? Yes.

12:50 p.m. Settle in to read blogs, check email, and surf a bit while I eat.

1:20 p.m. Lunch is done. Time for dessert! Caramel apple Hershey kisses. Am I the only one that adores all of the new seasonal flavors they crank out?

1:30 p.m. Hollywood asks if we can play Wii. Not until 3:00, I reply. Even though we are mostly done with school for the day I still hold to a mostly no screen rule until 3. Primarily because I would like them to use the time between finish and 3 to read, look at picture books, draw, color, play games, etc. They do this pretty well.

1:45 p.m. I am reminded that at rest time I promised a science experiment. I start gathering supplies for a model of blood. Corn syrup (plasma), red hots (red blood cells), lima beans (white blood cells), and lentils (platelets) combines in proportion in an empty peanut butter jar.

1:50 p.m. I get distracted by this fabulous blog post/unit study – A Term at Hogwarts. Trying to figure out how to work this into our current schedule.

2:00 p.m. Captain Chaos is a little more willing to go do “rest time” when I wrap up a baby doll in one of his blankies and send them off together. He proudly carries his charge to his bedroom and lovingly lays the baby in bed. My heart melts a little. Then he starts to wrestle with the baby which culminates with the baby in a headlock. I shut the door.

2:10 p.m. I lay out materials and instructions for the girls to make their blood model. They dutifully measure ingredients and combine in the jar. It turns out pretty cool.

2:15 p.m. Science is done! Heh. They have blended their “blood” and named the parts and their jobs. They’ll color and label a model drawing tomorrow.

2:16 p.m. Live365 is back on for Pirate songs. We especially enjoy the Pirates dance mix. Heh.

2:20 p.m. I am about to fall over. Lay down on the couch for  quick nap while Chaos is doing “rest time.”

2:30 p.m. Jerk awake because the blind dog has walked intot he back door. Again.

2:55 p.m. Jerk awake because I hear what I think MUST be the blind dog peeing in the floor. Nope. It’s Hollywood getting the tiniest trickle of water in a cup “because I thought it would be quieter.”

3:00 p.m. Sit up.

3:05 p.m. Fall asleep sitting up.

3:45 p.m. Jerk awake when Beefcake lays his head in my lap and sits on my foot to ask for a second bowl of kibble. He licks my hand to say “pretty please.”  Ummm, no. Okay, so he may have actually been tasting me, he looks that hungry. You’d think he only got fed once a week.

3:46 p.m. Send MOTS out for mail. She returns with two pieces of junk and a box nearly as big as she is. “What is this Mommy?”

“It’s a nunyo.”

To the other kids: “Yay! We got another NUNYO!” To herself: “I hate nunyos.”

Since she has discovered my blog and now reads here I must not divulge the contents of the giant box. But, I had fun opening it! Haha!

4:00 p.m. Giant box is stowed precariously.

4:05 p.m. I review tonight’s lesson.

4:30 p.m. Captain Chaos comes into the room to remind me that I am a mean mommy for not going to the store daily to buy yet another gallon of milk. We have a detailed conversation about my inability to make chocolate milk without milk.

4:45 p.m. Wrangle Chaos into some clothes and shoes for church. Gather up church bags and supplies and load up the car.

4:55 p.m. Pull out of driveway.

4:56 p.m. Arrive in church parking lot. We’re lucky.

5:00 p.m. Wednesday night dinner! This is the best time! We talk about everything!

5:40 p.m. Take Chaos to “choir.” It’s really childcare, but he doesn’t know! He loves it because they do art and let him play with his friends.

5:45 p.m. Head upstairs to locate the supplies I need for my class. Walk over to the main meeting room to watch the opener.

6:00 p.m. Play the part of ping pong ball retriever for a minute to win it game opener.

6:01 p.m. That was more work than I thought it would be! Neither kid won. Pooh!

6:05 p.m. Stand in for worship leader. The only reason I’ll do it is because I am not mic’d. I just sing and smile and clap. Easy enough in a room full of kids. They don’t judge!

6:15 p.m. Lesson by our Children’s Minister. Excellent!

6:30 p.m. Head out to small groups with my kids. Lesson time!

7:15 p.m. Wednesday nights are over. Go to pick up Chaos. He meets me at the door crying because he does not want to leave! Good problem to have, I guess. I bribe him with a Dum-dum to come with me. Sad.

7:30 p.m. Arrive home. Yes, it always takes longer to get home! We stop and chat and mosey out of the church.

7:35 p.m. Feed the dogs. Beefcake is happy!

7:45 p.m. Everyone has shoes off, Chaos is stripped to a t-shirt and underpants, and Princess and the Frog is playing on the TV.

7:47 p.m. Kids can not watch a movie without a bag of popcorn. Slightly singed.

7:50 p.m. Realize I am sucked into the movie. Again.

9:07 p.m. Cry over Ray the firefly. Again.

9:15 p.m. Movie’s over! Bedtime for Captain Chaos.

9:17 p.m. Turn on Mythbusters. Scent dog myths are fun!

9:30 p.m. Put Chaos back in bed.

9:40 p.m. Put Chaos back in bed.

9:45 p.m. Send girls to bed. Put Chaos back in bed.

10:00 p.m. Put Chaos back in bed.

10:05 p.m. Watch TV.

10:10 p.m. Put Chaos back in bed.

10:30 p.m. Go to bed. The dogs collapse into heaps on the bedroom floor. I guess they were worn out from their super rough day of napping, eating and napping.

Tagged

One thought on “October 6, 2010, in more detail than you really want.

  1. notasupermom says:

    I’m tired out just reading that! If you aren’t a supermom, you are a super mom!

Talk to me!

