Focus on January 2011

Focusing on the events of January 2011

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

Fall of Giants

The Apothecary’s Daughter

Switched

The Potluck Club

Boyfriends, Burritos + an Ocean of Trouble

Water for Elephants

Goodness Gracious Green

Martha Stewart Living

These are all reviewed by me (including stars) + linked to Amazon on this page.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

CSI:Miami,  Hawaii 5-0, True Grit, Mythbusters, Human Target, The Office, CSI, Bones, The Ghost Whisperer, Despicable Me, Waking Sleeping Beauty.

Party Boy and I went to see True Grit on our date night and we both really liked it. I haven’t seen the John Wayne version, except for bits and pieces, but I really enjoyed this version.

Waking Sleeping Beauty is a documentary that covers the struggle of Disney animation through the 70s, 80s and 90s to get back on top after the death of Walt Disney. Very interesting.

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We flew home from Orlando on New Years Day after an awesome vacation at Walt Disney World.

Party Boy’s sister came over on the afternoon of the 2nd to watch the kids while we went out for our anniversary. We went to see True Grit at the theater with a gift card she had given us for Christmas. The babysitting was also part of our gift. Very thoughtful and well-appreciated!

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

MOTS’ birthday is this month, so she got a new outfit, some art supplies, and hair accessories. She also bought herself a desk lamp for her art desk in her room for task lighting.

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

We had some Christmas gift cards so we bought the Harry Potter Lego board game. It. Is. Awesome! We love it!

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

We all came down with a nasty bought of bronchitis and wound up laid up for 2 weeks dealing with that. Just plain miserable with the coughing and all. Ugh. It really threw a nasty wrench in the works, leaving me feeling exhausted and run down, which led to getting behind in keeping up with the house, and then it just avalanched from that. The kids all had it too, but not near as bad as I did.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Focus on Family – We did have our date night this month courtesy of Party Boy’s sister. I still need to get the chore cards made, but am actually toying with letting my perfectionism go and having the girls make their own. Our family activity was game night – we played the new Harry Potter game.

Focus on Fitness – I began tracking my calories on Livestrong.com. A great way to keep up with what goes in my mouth. Funny how it’s so much harder to justify extra helpings or extra snacks when I know I have to note it on MyPlate. I moved 2.3 miles toward my goal of 500 miles for the year. Pathetic, right? No excuses except being sick and then a really bizarre schedule in the later part of the month. I have really got to get moving in February.

Focus on Hearth & Home – FlyLady routines have been a lifesaver and I notice a huge difference when I am not consistent with them (like when I was sick). My routines are becoming habits now and I find that I don’t have to check the list quite as often. It also goes faster in the morning which is nice now that we are back to school work.

I completed a couple of projects this month as well, caulking the baseboards and also calling for an estimate on some work for our kitchen cabinets, then getting that work ordered and completed. Next up, tiling the guest bath and painting.

Focus on Hobbies – I completed 21 layouts this month toward my goal of 211 in 2011. I read “Fall of Giants” (and several other books) this month as well to meet my one book per month goal. I haven’t worked on the stocking, and probably won’t until this summer.

What were my disappointments this month?

I am mostly disappointed at my lack of progress in moving more. Being sick really hurt that. Having a crazy schedule (being up late and getting up early) really hurt that. I know that this is a season and it won’t last forever. I just need it to pass so that I can focus on other things and get moving again.

Tagged

One thought on “Focus on January 2011

  1. I admire your lists! I’d love to be the kind of person to plan and track my progress, but I’m too loosey-goosey.

    I hope you are feeling better now!

Talk to me!

