Say What?

We’ve been on a journey of late. One that has not been documented here, but should be.

This was the do or die year, so to speak for Hollywood to learn to read. It has been an uphill battle from the get-go. Painful, frustrating, hair-pullingly slow. Phonics, whole word, nothing was working. And it still isn’t really. I mean, she can read, but not fluently, and it is a struggle for her. It breaks my heart, because she really wants to read, she loves stories, but she. just. can’t.

So this past fall we started our journey. My Mom called with a resource in the Luke Waite Center at Scottish Rite Hospital for Children. So I contacted them to find out what we needed to do to get an evaluation. They asked for a pediatrician referral. So, we called the pediatrician.

He agreed that further testing was warranted after talking to her and to me and hearing my concerns. He signed the referral. I mailed that in and got a ream of paperwork in response.

I filled out several evaluations covering multiple areas – emotional development, physical development, mental development, etc. I mailed all of that back and got a letter a couple of weeks later granting us acceptance to the program. Victory number 1.

Their letter indicated that some of the answers in the evaluations indicated that there may be ADD or ADHD involved here. Not surprising since I had read that these tend to partner with Dyslexia. They suggested further testing so we went back to the pediatrician. More paperwork and a follow-up appointment there.

In the meantime, we now have an appointment date for testing at Luke Waite. We’ll be heading out there for evaluation next month. Possibly with an added diagnosis of ADD (she doesn’t seem to be hyperactive, but she does have trouble with focus). And all that goes with that.

Is this scary? Absolutely. This is uncharted territory for us. For all of us.

The good news? There’s lots of support for families and for kids with Dyslexia. There’s lots of success stories too. There’s lots of resources for homeschooling families (I imagne that this was not always the case). And we have the support of a great program to look forward too.

I know that the road ahead is going to be hard. Probably really, really hard. But, there is a measure of comfort in knowing with relative certainty what the problem actually is.

I hope that there are many more victories ahead of us.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Say What?

  1. Ashley says:

    We are just a month ahead of your journey! Our son was at Luke Waites for testing in Feb and we just went back for the results yesterday. I was shocked to find out they say our son is NOT dyslexic. Really shocked. His behaviors/reading issues are textbook dyslexic. They said he cannot learn to read due to ADHD. I never would have guessed…….I look forward to hearing more about your story and what you lear! Happy travels on this journey!

Talk to me!

