Focus on February 2011

Focusing on the events of February 2011

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

Medicus

Goodness Gracious Green

The Gifts of Imperfection

Unclutter Your Life in One Week

A Time to Love (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1)

Martha Stewart Living

These are all reviewed by me (including stars) + linked to Amazon on this page.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

Hawaii 5-0, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, Criminal Minds: Season 1, Human Target, The Office, CSI, Bones, The Ghost Whisperer, The Court Jester, Tinkerbell and the Great Fairy Rescue, The Karate Kid,

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We went to a hockey game with my parents and brother to see my Mom recognized as Teacher of the Year for her school district. We were very proud of her and loved seeing her on the big screen during her recognition. The kids really enjoyed the game and all of the fun stuff they do to keep the audience involved.

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

I got the One Little Word class for Valentine’s Day. Okay, so I bought it for myself, but still. We also got a new lightning fast router for the house. Awesome!

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

I never buy scrapbooking classes so OLW was unusual. I am adding some other classes to my list so I can add to my digi-skills. Plus, it gives Party Boy something to give me. I’m happy, he’s happy. It’s a win-win.

The router was out of the ordinary as well, but it was time. With so many wireless devices in the house our old network was bogging down terribly. The new router has lots of features our old one didn’t have, such as the ability to plug in a USB device and access it from networked computers. It’s allowed me to do a local back-up in addition to my off-site back-up and  access my digi supplies that were stored on the EHD.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Nothing that some Aleve and heating pad time couldn’t fix. We did lots of yard work and I took up the linoleum in the front bathroom. That’s a workout and used muscles that I don’t normally use. Other than that? We’re good.

That’s a blessing too, because it has been a miserable year for some of the families at church that seem to have constantly sick kids. I hate that for them, cause we have been there and will likely be there again! Just not this month!

What were my accomplishments this month?

Focus on Family – No date night this month. Too much work and school to fit one in, but I already have March’s date night on the schedule!

No chore cards, but I did find this great iPhone App that uses gold stars and a payout system. We set up special request rewards, set a currency and set the kids to work. They like it and I like that it makes it easy to reward them for chores and good behavior.

For family night we had a couple of movie nights – The Court Jester and Tinkerbell. The kids love movie night, so that’s our go-to family activity right now. Pop some popcorn and settle in for a great movie!

Focus on Fitness – Eat Less, Move More. Got the eating less thing down. Overeating is a hard habit to break, because I find it hard to “feel” full. I am also adding in lots of fruits and vegetables. Lost a few pounds in spite of only moving 5 miles this month toward my 500 mile goal. That brings the total to a miserable 7 miles. I wish all the construction work counted toward the mileage, because it has definitely been a workout. I may have to re-write this goal, adjust the total mileage down and then set another goal for weight loss. Still thinking about this one.

Focus on Hearth & Home – Flylady consistency. Doing pretty good here. I let the floors go for too long this month, but it was a quick fix mopping and good as new! It’s helped in getting the house ready for market, having less clutter is a must and cleaning is easier done in smaller chunks.

Home improvement projects – the trim is caulked in the back of the house. Still need to finish the front end of the house. I pulled up the linoleum in the front bathroom to prep for tile going in. I also cleaned off the back porch and readied the furniture for summer and we cut back the crepe myrtles and removed the bulbs from the front. Lots of progress.

Declutter – 62 pounds of clutter went to charity this month, plus who knows how much got sent out in trash! My kids keep everything so purging is a frequent thing around here.

Focus on Hobbies – I completed 27 layouts so far this year towards my goal of 211. Here are the ones from February:

Snow Fun Quiet PlayWk7 January One Little Word January Review HandHold AroundDTDLeft AroundDTDRight Ridemakerz Lego Store DTDDecorations

Haven’t worked on the stocking. Heh.

Reading has picked up and I finished 2 books and started 2 more this month.

What were my disappointments this month?

Well, not having a date night was a bit of a bummer. Also a little disappointed in my work on One Little Word. The assignment was to take pictures documenting my word. I found that tough because I was thinking in the literal sense. I have an idea now and just need to take the pictures, which is a good thing sense we should be getting a new assignment like today? It’s okay, as this is really a self-paced class. No rush. Just frustrated that it took me this long to figure out what I wanted to do!

Talk to me!

