Project Life

I have tried Project 365 twice before. Both times, I quit. At first I thought it was just because I would get behind and miss a few days and then it was just easier to quit. The second time around I had a realization. I don’t like scrapping those pictures. I like having them. I like scrapping some of them, but the pressure to create a page with 7 pictures and journal about each picture? It made me not even want to open Photoshop.

Then in January I started seeing Project Life (brainchild of Becky Higgins) pop up here and there. It’s similar to Project 365, and can even be used for that purpose. But it doesn’t have to be. I joined the Project Life forums at Big Picture Classes (it’s FREE!) and started reading and looking at what other people are doing. And I liked this no pressure style of scrapping the every day.

I have been sitting with the idea for a week or so now and trying to decide what to do and how to do it. For me, buying the kit wasn’t right, right now. I won’t print the pictures and then I’ll feel guilty for the money spent and so on. And while I am happy that there is a digital option provided I am not a big fan of photo books. And then there was the dilemma of when to start. It seemed odd to just start an album project like that in the middle of March. Not saying that somebody couldn’t, but it was putting me off.

I had put the idea aside when Party Boy asked me to find a picture in iPhoto for him. I opened it up and as I was browsing looking for the picture I noticed that we had at least one picture from nearly every day since January 1st this year.

Odd that we were doing a Project 365 without even knowing it!

So I went back and looked at the layout of Project Life and decided that I could replicate the look with a template easily enough. I tried it out with the first few pictures of the year –

PL_Week_1

Papers and elements from Shabby Princess Plentiful and Bounce. Dates Misty Cato Date Bits 19. Months and Year brushes from Digital Design Essentials. Wordart from Suddenly Artistic. Fonts – CK Constitution + CK Becky (journaling).

The template came together easily and then it was just a matter of loading the photos and jotting in some notes. And since I don’t feel pressured to write about every day or even have a picture for every day? Maybe I’ll wind up with a full album for 2011. I feel like I have a head start, what with 2 months of photos in the bag.

Yeah, some of the pictures are crummy cell phone pictures. And some are a little blurry. Some I would even call bad. But they do document our every day, and even better, are contributed by every member of the family. Some days have one picture, some have no pictures, and some days have tons of pictures. It’ll all come out in the wash, I am sure.

For now, I am going to keep taking pictures. Keep putting the ones I have on pages and keep making notes about stories here. Because, in the end, that’s what it’s all about.

Tagged

Talk to me!

