Focus on March 2011

Focusing on the events of February 2011

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

A Time to Love

The Little Known

These are all reviewed by me (including stars) + linked to Amazon on this page.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

Hawaii 5-0,  Criminal Minds, Season 1 + 2,  The Office, CSI, Bones, The Ghost Whisperer, Teen Mom 2, March Madness, The Adjustment Bureau

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We did a local mission project that was pretty cool. It’s always nice to see your kids out serving others. We spent an entire Saturday giving the front yard a much needed sprucing up.We did lots of work around the house, which is always more fun when you work together. But, probably the best thing? We downloaded RISK for iPad and have had some serious world domination showdowns!

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

My Mom and Dad bought Easter clothes for all the kids (it’s a yearly tradition). This included some tiny cowboy boots for Captain Chaos. He also received a cowboy hat from my Aunt. He loves being “just like Woody.”

<I promise to get pictures up soon!>

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Ha! I don’t know if it is special or unusual anymore! More stuff for the house. I am trying to buy things that will easily make the transition to the new house so I am not wasting money. We bought a new rug for the living room, some assorted decorative items – a new vase, some new candles, some new curtains for the kitchen. One of my very favorite purchase was a bowl from Pier One that will be my new centerpiece.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Another round of cold/chest congestion for me. This one was much easier to kick that the January version and MOTS and I were the only ones that caught it.

Not really an illness or health concern – but we also had Hollywood evaluated for ADHD and Dyslexia this month.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Focus on Family – We had our date night! Two actually – one to make up for missing in February! We went and saw The Adjustment Bureau which was a really good movie. I wasn’t sure that I would like it, but it was a good mix of romance and action, so it gets a thumbs up for me! Our second date night was out to a surprise party for a friends 45th birthday. Lots of fun to spend time with friends.

Focus on Fitness – Most of my exercise has come in the form of packing and cleaning (and I mean deep cleaning!) and de-cluttering. With the treadmill going into storage soon and the house hopefully finished soon, I hope to start taking evening walks with the kids to start upping my miles again. I ma not make 500 for the year, but I am moving.

My eating has been all over the map and while my weight is still down it has plateaued for the moment. I am okay with that because I know it’s all related to stress. I just try to focus on the long-term and make good choices more often than not. It’s never easy, is it?

Focus on Hearth & Home – Sometimes it feels like this is all I do anymore. We got the yard all fixed up, I just need to add some seasonal color. The bathroom is tiled, which is a huge load off my mind. Now it’s all about those little projects that make a house sparkle.

I have lost track of how much we have decluttered. It’s well over 100 pounds of stuff by now. It’s amazing how much stuff a family accumulates in 12 years, right?

Focus on Hobbies – Who has time for hobbies? 🙂

Actually, thanks to Project Life, I am still scrapping, so that’s good news. But that’s about all I have gotten done.

I have completed 56 layouts towards my goal of 211 in 2011, but I won’t link them here since there were so many this month and they are mostly Project Life.

What were my disappointments this month?

The lack of a 36 hour day? That I need to sleep so much? Seriously though, I feel like I have a to-do list that is longer than the time I have left to complete it. Making it work though…

 

Talk to me!

