Spring Cleaning – Silk Flowers

As I scurry around cleaning and painting and cleaning and scrubbing, I thought I’d share a little about my efforts.

When we moved into this house 12 years ago we needed some things to fill out the little decorative niches in the entry and kitchen. We setlled on silk flowers becuase it was an easy way to add color and relatively cheap. We went to the local craft store and picked out some flowers, brought them home and stuck them in a vase. The end.

Twelve years later the flowers were pretty grungy. I dusted them fairly often, just running a swiffer duster over them, but dust and dirt has tendency to stick to those things and get down in the nooks and crannies.

I saw floral cleaning spray at the store, and it claimed that it would just “melt the dust away.” Seriously? I bought a can, but from what I could tell all it really did was wet the dust. Gross.

A little visit with Grandma Google advised me to just wash the flowers. So I did.

I fille one side of the sink with cold water a couple of drops of dishwashing detergent and the other side of the sink with cold water to rinse. I dunked and swished each flower in the soapy water and then in the rinse. I blotted them dry with a white towel and put them back into the vase to air dry.

It took me about 20 minutes to do two arrangements. The flowers are completely dry and they look so bright and pretty again. Super easy!

It’s not something I plan to do all that frequently, maybe once a year or so. I definitely won’t put it off for another 12 years though, now that I know how simple it really is.

 

Tagged ,

Talk to me!

