Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 2

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week…

Chaos! Between doctor appointments, showings, and life I am feeling a little overwhelmed. Don’t get me wrong, I am really glad that the house is showing. Every person that walks through the front door could potentially make an offer on the house. I’m just tired of living the way you have to live while you have a house on the market. You have to live in your house as if you don’t live in the house. That’s hard on a homeschooling Mama. I’m tired of being hyper-overactive cleaning like a crazy woman Mama.

In our homeschool this week…

We have been hit or miss really. Which frustrates me to no end, but our life is in such chaos, I feel like what we are getting done is a bit of a gift. Monday we got school done – Yay! Tuesday we had back-to-back-to-back showings and we did school at the library. This was not as ideal as I would have initially thought. Even MOTS had difficulty dealing with the constant onslaught of distractions. Hollywood actually did okay as long as I sat next to her and she took frequent “play” breaks. Wednesday was more showings, but we didn’t get school done because I just wasn’t prepared. Thursday we did school lite after I had a super late night Wednesday and it was Hollywood’s Birthday. Friday is an off day so we can clean in preparation for weekend showings.

So, not as much as I would like to have accomplished, but still forward progress, which will do in this season until we can get settled again.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

This week: Monday we had our regular swim classes, Tuesday was the library for school and then to the grocery store. Wednesday was church. Thursday to Staples and Lowes. More running around than usual.

My favorite thing this week was…

School-related: Reading Six Million Paper Clips. This book made me cry.

Family-related: Hollywood’s birthday! She is 9!

What’s working/not working for us…

Well, the library is out. For now. I think we could make it work if we went into a stody room. Unfortunately, there are no study rooms with a play area. And Chaos is still too little to be expected to sit quietly for 3+ hours. No. We need a space where the girls can work and Chaos can play and not be right on top of each other.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Homeschooling through transistions is tough, but I think there are valuable lessons to be learned from transitions.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Happy Birthday Sweet Girl!

Happy birthday!

Tagged

One thought on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 2

  1. Not to totally be all up in your homeschool grill…

    (because I am NOT a fan of unsolicited advice!)

    …but could you use your church on days when your house is showing? My hubs is a pastor and I know we’d open it up for someone in your situation. Just an idea…

    Visiting from the Journal link up. Glad I did. Now I don’t feel like such a blob of failure. We’ve been having hit n’ miss days this week too!

    …danielle

Talk to me!

