Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 3

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week…

After the upset of last week, this week seemed calm by comparison. We only had to leave the house for swim classes and church, which was nice. Lots of time at home translates into lots of time to get school work done.

In our homeschool this week…

We got a lot done this week! Yay! We listened to “The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler” and started “Rabbit Hill.”

Both girls worked on math every day and both seem to be really grasping the various concepts – long-division for MOTS and fractions for Hollywood.

MOTS is currently working her way through “The 39 Clues” series and trying to solve all of the clues. It’s a bit of reward reading for finishing all of the assigned reading early. Hollywood is still working in Explode the Code Online and really, really likes it. I have found that she still needs me there with her. I am not as involved as when I was the primary/solo teacher, but I provide support and gentle reminders to focus.

We also spent a bit of time talking about current events some and also talking about World War II.

I am not folling myself into believeing that every day/week can be like this right now, but it’s nice to have them every once in a while!

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

This week: Monday we had our regular swim classes, Tuesday to the grocery store. Wednesday was church. Thursday to IHOP for dinner during a showing (kids eat free!) and Friday Top-Secret Field Trip!

My favorite thing this week was…

Hollywood’s excitement over scoring 100% on her Math Test! With fractions even!

What’s working/not working for us…

Everything seems to be chugging along. I do have to say that books-on-CD are wonderful for us right now. We get them from the library and listen to them in the car while we are out running errands and if we have to go out and park during a showing.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

I would love to see examples of timelines. I love looking at them and seeing how other families incorporate them into  their days.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Lego Play

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 3

  1. I just blogged about making our timeline for MoH2 the other day. 🙂 Here is the link:
    http://www.thekelleyeight.com/2011/05/mystery-of-history-2-planning.html
    Visiting from HSMJ.

  2. Becca says:

    We LOVE books on CD in the car. My 9YO gets carsick easy so it’s almost the only entertainment she can tolerate on 45+ minute car rides.

Talk to me!

