Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 4

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week…

Is there anything like the creative cooking from a pantry as you try to stretch past your regular grocery day? We usually shop on Monday, but I really do not want to be trying to get groceries on Memorial Day! So we stretched it to Thursday before hitting the store. The kids were really grateful to be able to have something besides pantry food for meals. You know, all those odds and ends that get leftover. Anyway, we are fully stocked for the weekend and looking forward to cooking on the grill!

In our homeschool this week…

It was a good work week for us. The girls keep trucking through their math and we got some good reading practice in with Hollywood. MOTS and I had a good discussion about real-life math. I was honest with her that some math you only use in classes, unless you pursue a science or math degree, of course, and enter those fields. But in fashion (her current target career)? Not so much. I promised that I would never tell her that she would use this in life if it wasn’t true, with the caveat that she understand that my job is not to torture her with math, but rather to prepare her to be able to pursue any career she might wish to pursue. Even if that turns out not to be fashion.

We are winding down history and science now. Honestly, I don’t think we’ll pick those up until we know what the situation is with the house – moving or not. I just don’t want to bring in another huge bunch of books until I know we have a place to put them! So this will be the summer of math and reading.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

This week: Monday we had our last swim classes, Tuesday was the paint store so I could get paint for our Master Bath. Wednesday was church (last meeting of the year). Thursday to Lowes. And last Friday’s field trip, was, of course, Legoland.

My favorite thing this week was…

The kids totally kept it together during the very scary storms we had earlier this week. I announced a Tornado Warning and they gathered a couple of books each, some blankets and pillows and went and plugged in the weather radio to wait it out in the bathroom. I consider this a win since I know they are aware of what happened in Joplin last week.

What’s working/not working for us…

I think multiplication will kill me. Hollywood took to fractions like a duck to water (so far) which surprised me, but MOTS can’t seem to get multiplication facts to stick in her head which is throwing a serious kink in long division. I know the feeling. I did tutoring in 5th grade for the very same problem.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Anyone know of a free math site to practice multiplication?

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ Week 4

  1. Check out multiplication.com. There are ads, but it seems okay.

    • Jennifer says:

      Nota Supermom beat me to the punch. My students LOVE multiplication.com because it’s games. I do have to add stipulations to the factors that they can choose from (after I noticed they were doing 0’s and 1’s for factors to make the games easier!!)

  2. Becca says:

    My 9YO girl LOVES Timez Attack. It has helped her multiplication skills A LOT! Here’s the URL: http://www.bigbrainz.com/

  3. ViolinMama says:

    It’s amazing what history you can do with reading…science too! You may have a more rich summer than you expect. If this link helps, this is what we are doing (it is for all ages, you can scroll down to see how it grows). http://ebeth.typepad.com/serendipity/along-the-alphabet-path-1.html

    Fantastic ideas shared this week. I’m new to this link and LOVE all the great blogs I am finding, and the inspiration is fantastic too. Thank you!!

  4. Beth says:

    I can’t say enough great thing about Math-U-See’s online drills.
    http://www.mathusee.com/wp-includes/popup_math_drill.php

    We are looking forward to grilling on Monday-rain or shine!

Talk to me!

