Focus on May 2011

Focusing on the events of May 2011

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

The Help

Martha Stewart Living

These are all reviewed by me (including stars) + linked to Amazon on this page.

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

Hawaii 5-0,  Criminal Minds: Season 3 + 4,  The Office, CSI, Bones, NBA Playoffs, Easy A, GLEE, Blue Bloods, Flashpoint, Castle, Dexter: Season 3, Harry Potter + The Deathly Hallows: Part 1, The Fighter, The Last Airbender, Extraordinary Measures, Barbarians at the Gate, Rules of Engagement, Big Bang Theory

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We went out to eat at my favorite Mexican restaurant on Mother’s Day. I got a new Wacom tablet a couple of months ago that was my Mother’s Day present. It was actually pretty funny, on Friday night I mentioned that Sunday was Mother’s Day and Party Boy panicked a bit, then quickly recovered, asking what I might want. I laughed and reminded him of the pen tablet. Good thing I am honest, or Mother’s Day could have gotten really expensive! 🙂

We went to Legoland Discovery Center on a Friday so we could be out of the house for a showing. That was really fun! We played the interactive ride, watched the 4D Lego movie, rode the Merlin ride, and played with lots and lots of Legos!

Memorial Day weekend we went and spent Saturday with my Mom + Dad. Very fun! The boys went to the pistol range and had fun there while the kids + I + Mom hung out and Mom started a new afghan from MOTS. I’ll reveal that when it’s done. Very cool! Then Sunday Party Boy and I went to talk to a home builder while the kids were with his Mom swimming. Monday we went to friends house and met with their builder while the kids swam in their pool and we ate like pigs. It was a great weekend!

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

I got a lovely card from MOTS, a flower pen and pipe cleaner ring from Hollywood and a pretty potted flower from Chaos. Wonderful gifts!

Hollywood got some money to spend and not surprisingly, spent it all at Legoland. She got a big Toy Story 3 set and a small Pirates of the Caribbean set.

My reward for keeping up the great habit of running/walking daily was signing up for the Photo Freedom Class at Big Picture Classes. It starts June 2nd and I am very excited, not the least about the fact that getting that class helped me establish a positive new habit in the month of May.

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

Sod for the backyard and potted flowers for the porch – just to give it some color. They have these really great pots that just drop into a larger decorative pot. So I was able to have a really nice set of flowers out about 5 minutes before a showing with no mess!

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

The cottonwood trees started throwing out pollen, so my allergies were pretty bad, but Claritin (OTC) really helps keep them under control, so not a huge issue!

What were my accomplishments this month?

Focus on Family – No date this month. Kind of a bummer, but we’ve been busy. We have been making an extra effort to spend time talking more, which has helped.

I am temporarily dumping the chore card idea. We have found that cleaning for a showing gives everyone a sense of purpose and it’s working just assigning jobs as the are completed. We’ll stick with that for now.

Family game night has been replaced with family time during showings – often parked somewhere and hanging in the car.

Focus on Fitness – I ran/walked 10+ miles this May. I alternate walking and running and just do what I feel like doing. I even did a day where I ran 2 miles in 30 minutes. I am liking the no pressure approach to working out and hoping it helps me to not feel overwhelmed and wanting to quit. I am realy not 100% positive about my actual mileage, I just know that Nike+ shows 10 miles and I started moving before I started using Nike+, but I forgot to note my mileage. Oh well.

Focus on Hearth & Home – Decluttering is done. Now it’s just cleaning and staying on top of the laundry which is working well.

Focus on Hobbies – I did 20 layouts in May! Can you believe it? That brings my grand total to 63 of 211 in 2011. I would been to do 42 layouts in June to be halfway to my goal halfway through the year. That may happen, it may not. I spent a lot of time with my photos in this last week and I really want to scrap, so I guess we’ll see.

I was also invited to be a part of the Peppermint Creative Challenge Team. Love that!

Here are my layouts from May 2011 (not including Project Life. You can see my Project Life posts here, or album pages here):
iPhone LYMGardenEv Edible Science KissMe
What were my disappointments this month?

Still no movement on the house. Mildly disappointing. We get wonderful feedback, but no bites. Not sure what that’s about except that it’s a buyers market and everybody wants something for next-to-nothing. Oh well.

Tagged

Talk to me!

