Homeschool Mother’s Journal | Week 3

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week… We are home and, I think, fully recovered from camp. The laundry is caught up and I have caught up on sleep. Everyone is getting back into the semblance of a routine. I’d still rather be playing Nubbyball.

In our homeschool this week… We’ve finished week three of TOG Year 1. That means that we are 1/3 of the way through Unit 1. Shocking. It’s been so much fun though, so far. The girls are really enjoying their time in Ancient Egypt.

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share… This is my first year “going it alone,” so to speak, in planning. I am enjoying it, and I feel a bit more connected to what the girls are doing because I am spending that time every week gathering books, reading the weekly overviews and notes, etc. Every week is like a reassurance that I made the right decision in choosing our curriculum this year.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing… Nothing very special this week. We’re trying to readjust back to normal life after a week at camp, so I have found that we really just needed to be at home a little more. A trip to the library, some grocery shopping and being out of the house for a showing were really it.

My favorite thing this week was… I am just continually amazed at the rapid progress that Hollywood is making in reading. It’s like a switch was flipped, to be honest. Yes, there are still struggles, but those are largely overshadowed by the fact that she can now pick up just about any book and read most of it without help. Confidence is the last thing to come along, but I imagine that easy chapter books are not too far over the horizon. 

What’s working for us… Keep Moving Forward (from Meet the Robinsons). I have to keep reminding the girls (especially MOTS) that it’s okay to not do all the required reading in one or two days. It’s okay to take your time through a book or labelling a map. I think that she sees her assignment sheet as a challenge to be gotten through. I want her to view learning as an experience to be enjoyed. Consistent reminders to just do a little each day and gentle direction as to what that means seem to be helping.

Questions/thoughts I have… I am wondering if anyone else has a stop time? I tell my girls that my teaching job ends at 3 p.m. MOTS especially would follow me around trying to get a head start on math assignments and other work until much later. It’s not that I want to discourage her from working ahead or going above and beyond, but I also have other activities and my own things to do and the constant interruptions asking for yet another explanation of fractions at 7:30 at night was about to drive me off the deep end. 

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
Hollywood reads Scooby-Doo

IMG_1081

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal | Week 3

  1. Amy says:

    I have a stop time! My oldest is only 6 though and I’ve never had to enforce it. He is happily done when I am 🙂

  2. Yara says:

    I love the idea of a Stop Time… I’m going to have to do that this year.

  3. Michelle says:

    I struggled with TOG. Glad to see someone is finding success there!

    Stopping by from the HMJ.

Talk to me!

