Are you pinning yet?

I know I have talked to several people lately that want to know more about Pinterest.

What is Pinterest? It’s a little like a cross between a bookmark and a visual inspiration board and a massive social network.

You can see a few of my boards here.

Screen shot 2011-08-19 at 8.21.09 PM

I use it to catalog everything from recipes that I want to try to Christmas Decor ideas and everything in between. I will never again spend hours trying to track down that obscure how-to post about some random great idea, because I’ll have it pinned into the relevant category and I can pull it up and find it within seconds.

Pinterest Prep

Pinning is pretty simple once you get the hang of it, but there’s a little prep work involved.

Pay a visit to the Pinterest Goodies page. Watch the video at the top of the page that explains how to install the “Pin It!” bookmarklet. Follow these instructions and install.

And you are ready to start pinning!

Pinning How-to

Now, as you browse the internet you can pin those great ideas, craft projects for “someday,” and that perfect Christmas gift for the super-hard-to-shop-for friend or relative. All you have to do is click the “Pin It!” button while you are on the page and a pop-up will appear allowing you to choose an image to pin. After you choose the image another pop-up will appear and ask which board to pin it to and for a little description. Then – Pin It!

Now your link and image are saved to the board of your choice and will appear to your followers.

Followers

You can find friends on Pinterest to follow and see their pins as well. If you see one you like – Re-Pin it to one of your boards and you’ll always know where it is!

Be warned! Pinterest is as addictive as you let it be. Use it simply as a tool or as a great waste of time.

Need an invite? Leave me a comment (be sure you attach your email address so I can send the invite!). Need another follower? Let me know you’re already there!

Want to follow me?

Follow Me on Pinterest

Tagged

Talk to me!

