Focus on October 2011

Focusing on the events of October 2011

What books and/or magazines did I read this month?

A Song of Ice and Fire

What movies, television shows, plays, etc. did I watch this month?

New television is back full-force. I was excited for the return of Big Bang Theory, Rules of Engagement, Bones, Hawaii 5-0, The Office, and Blue Bloods. I have really been enjoying the new additions to our line-up – Person of Interest, New Girl, and Terra Nova.

We spent a great deal of time watching the ALCS and the World Series because our team, the Texas Rangers were in both. Sadly, they did not win the championship, but maybe next year?

What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?

We went on our very first official Scott Kelby Worldwide Photowalk on October 1st, the day after we moved into my parents house. We also explaored the local library (pleasantly surprised at the selection!) and learned the new grocery store layout.

Of course, since it was October, we went to our church’s Fall Festival on the 30th as well as my parents church’s on the 31st. Double the candy. Yay.

What gifts did I give and/or receive?

Captain Chaos had his 4th birthday this month and he got a few new toys – some dinosaur figures and a new Transformer from us, along with a giant T-Rex from my parents, more dinosaur figures from Party Boy’s parents and my grandparents. He has a whole dino-zoo set up in the bonus room now!

What special or unusual purchases did I make?

I bought some new stuff for school for MOTS after her testing was completed. There were a few areas – computation and some grammar – that need a little boost, so I picked up some items to give her a bit more practice with no only those concepts but presented the same way that the test does. I’ll be writing about those sometime after we have used them a bit.

What illnesses or health concerns did I have?

Chaos had a little scare that required a trip to the doctor early in the month. He had a sudden onset of head pain and complained about moving his neck. Only a low-grade fever, though. Still, those can be tell-tale signs of meningits, so the doctor wanted to see him. They did a strep culture (negative) and felt around his neck. Apparently it was a viral infection that caused his lymph nodes to swell making turning his head painful and likely contributing to the headache as well. Some children’s ibuprofen, lots of clear liquids and rest cleared it all up after a few days.

I caught a little cold buggie towards the end of the month that seemed to enjoy settling in my chest and annoying me.

What were my accomplishments this month?

Focus on Family – No date nights, but we are settled into my parents house and adjusting fairly well.

Focus on Fitness – I did eventually get back to running, and managed to get in 5k. Not a great showing, but I put it off and then got hit with that cold which sidelined me until I could breathe again. I foresee some make-up running in November.

Focus on Hearth & Home – Settling in to a new surrounding and new routine. We seem to be doing okay. We are anxious to get moving on the new house and are finalizing plans with the builder now. Should be getting a soil test and foundation settled on in the coming days then it gung-ho? Updates to come!

Focus on Hobbies – 22 layouts in September/October. Total is 130 of 211.

Here are my layouts from July 2011 (not including Project Life. You can see my Project Life posts here, or album pages here):

BoyBevo-copy ThiIsUs2011-copy Parasail-Orange-Beach-copy PumpkinCarving-copy Interview-copy Favorite-Things-copy ThankfulForYou-copy

Tagged

Talk to me!

