Project Life 2012 | Start Now!

Project Life can be started anytime, really, and it can be used for anything – a baby or school album, a month-in-review album, or even an all about me album. The possibilities are endless. I use Project Life to create week-in-review layouts that, when compiled, span an entire year of my family’s everyday moments.

No matter when you decide to start, it is possible to cover a full calendar year in your Project Life. I know it may seem overwhelming, but don’t panic, and most importantly, don’t talk yourself OUT of this just because you feel like you are already behind. You’re not.

Cover-Page-copy

2011 Project Life Cover Page

My Experience

In January 2011 I started noticing a new trend in scrapbooking – Project Life. I tracked it back to Becky Higgins and I was immediately in love with the idea. At the time, though, Project Life wasn’t available as a digital product. I have been fully digital since 2008 and I wasn’t too keen on inviting paper back into my scrapbooking, regardless of how neatly it is packaged.

I continued to follow a few people who were doing Project Life and I just fell in love with the everyday photos and the journaling and the fact that they were still scrapping photos traditionally. It was everything that I wanted out of this hobby – a way to share our everyday life, but free me from the self-imposed guilt of having all. these. pictures. on my hard drive – not being displayed. Or enjoyed. Or remembered.

Around March of 2011 I realized that I could create a couple of digital templates that would mimic the look of paper Project Life and I could create pages digitally, using my very own supplies, and do my own digital Project Life.

PL_Week_16_L

Random 2011 Project Life page

Late Start

For whatever reason, I really have a hang-up about starting these kinds of projects on January 1st. I’m sure many of you do, too. I immediately threw out the idea of doing Project Life from March 2011 to March 2012. I wanted all of 2011 in one album, dang it. So I started digging back into iPhoto. I was amazed that I had photos to cover a weekly spread for every week starting January 1, 2011.

I bet you do, too. If you took pictures at all since 2012 officially started you have enough pictures to start Project Life 2012. Right now.

I am speaking from experience here. I started Project Life 2011 in March, caught up, and completed my 2011 Project Life album on December 31, 2011. It is so do-able. It’s why I stuck with it for 2012. It’s why I may use the format to scrap my old family photos. It works.

That I was able to complete a year-long project after so many failures at other long-term scrapbooking/photography projects is why I am so passionately encouraging all of you to give it a shot. It is possible to complete this project. And, no matter when you read this, it is not too late to start.

My How-to

Tomorrow I’ll cover my process – it’s easy (really!) – for keeping up with Project Life.

And for the record, I am not affiliated with Becky Higgins or Project Life in any way. I just love that I was able to be successful in recording 2011 and I wanted to encourage anyone that is on the fence about a project like this to give it a try. You can do this.

cultivate a good life by Becky Higgins

Project Life is the creation of Becky Higgins. You can find the Digital Edition here.

Project Life Posts | 2012 | 2011

Tagged

Talk to me!

