On Habit…

Pole position.

We’ve established that I spend an insane amount of time driving all over creation. And let’s face it, even though my pre-teen kiddos would gladly listen to the same 5 songs on repeat it drives me insane. Especially that Cher Lloyd song – I want you back (but not in a sweet-I-screwed-up-way, in a scary-I-thought-you-were-a-loser-until-someone-else-showed-interest).

So I decided that I had better things to listen to. Like podcasts. I went out and bought a mini speaker and car charger and now? I turn off the radio, they put in their headphones and I listen to what I want to listen to.

So, last week I was listening to the Paperclipping Roundtable and someone mentioned that blogging is a form of memory-keeping, which, hey! That’s something I like to do. And then went on to note that it’s a habit. And I was sort of sad, because so much has happened here, in my life, in the past couple of months. And none of it is really recorded anywhere.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I had just dropped the habit of blogging. I am still on the computer. I still scrapbook. I still scan Pinterest and Facebook and Twitter. But I hadn’t opened my blog in so very long.

And it wasn’t on purpose. It was just an accident. I got too busy.

And then when I had the time I was just out of the habit.

So, I am aiming to get the habit back – with a blog a day in October. One story, one post, every day next month. It may be short – a few sentences, or a longer string of words. But there’ll be a post every day (or close to it).

Tagged

2 thoughts on “On Habit…

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’ll try to do the same. Even though you’re the only one on the planet that has dropped out of the blogosphere. The only one.

Talk to me!

