Burn Bans and Other Hot Topics – A Brain Dump

We are under a county-wide burn ban. It’s not really news to anyone in the area – lots of heat, little rain. But it seems more ominous, just 20 minutes out of town where there seems to be so much more dead vegetation.

*****************************************************

School has started. Everyone is tired. Adults, kids, teachers, students. Adjusting from summer sleeping-in to early mornings is not easy for anyone.

*****************************************************

I am really excited for the long weekend ahead. Mainly because Party Boy has been getting up at 5:30 a.m. to beat traffic and work out. Great for him. But I can’t get back to sleep and I don’t do so good on little sleep. It’s not my natural clock – I’m a night person. Though these days I feel like more of a zombie person. So. Sleepy.

A long weekend = sleep.

*****************************************************

Beginning of school. 8th grade. How did this happen?

*****************************************************

The girls went to the dentist today. This always makes me anxious, because even though I make them brush we haven’t been able to escape cavities. But today we got two good reports! No cavities and even some reversed laser readings. Yay!

*****************************************************

Captain Chaos went to his first ever “Big Church” service last Sunday. It went well. But I have learned that new experiences don’t usually faze him. Ask me how he’s doing in a few weeks when it’s just part of the routine. 😉

*****************************************************

Beginning of school. Starting middle school.

*****************************************************

I am very excited to try out Disney Infinity. It’s at the top of Captain Chaos’ birthday list, so I suppose we will have it to try in October. Will let you know what I think.

*****************************************************

MOTS wants a curling wand. I don’t get it. They just like a good way to burn off your fingerprints. But, I have always suspected that she is the most likely of my kids to enter a burglary arts career. Hmmmm.

*****************************************************

I had forgotten how much fun it was to have a Kindergartner. It’s fun. They still listen and want to learn. Enjoying that while I can.

*****************************************************

Beginning of school.

*****************************************************

I need a nap.

Talk to me!

