Currently | May 15, 2014

Listening…

…to a lot of Eric Church lately. I mean, the guy has a gift for blues-y country music. And this latest album is fantastic and has quickly become a favorite. I also have my summer Kenny mix going quite a bit. Then there’s the ambient sounds of dishes being rattled, a little boy humming the Star Wars theme, and sniffling and sneezing of allergy season.

Eating…

…better. I have been more purposeful about getting vegetables into my diet and have been using my NutriBullet fairly frequently to replace meals. We still have cr@p meals here and there, but are definitely doing better overall.

Drinking…

…coffee. Look, I have tried and tried to give it up. It never sticks. This time it was because I feel guilty for having all the little coffee pods that work in my special snowflake coffee maker. And yes, I drink creamer. I am trying to make it my only vice, and be healthier throughout the day.

Wearing…

…capris, layered henley’s, and tennis shoes. I blow-dried my hair so I could wear it down, but I don’t know how long that will last. It’s wicked humid outside and I can actually feel my hair getting bigger. I know they say, “The bigger the hair, the closer to God.” I don’t buy it. And I don’t like it when my hair is wider than my shoulders.

Feeling…

…like there aren’t enough hours in a day. There’s so much that I want to do. I’m reading The Creative Habit, and just finished chapter 2, which is where the homework begins. One of the assignments is to give something up for a week. I am toying with the idea of giving up the internet as input. It seems like I spend a lot of time looking for input and not enough time on the output – creating my own content.

Weather…

…is a tricky devil. We’ve had LOTS of rain this week which is great news for the garden and the drought and the lake levels. But it’s also unseasonably cool, which is weird. It feels really strange to be in Texas and wearing a hoodie outside in the middle of May. But I was.

Wanting…

…nothing really. I have plenty to eat. I have a warm house (cool in the summer). I have a loving family. There are books on the nightstand and on my Kindle.

Needing…

…to spring clean. We did a successful purge a couple of weeks ago, but now I just want to oust the winter build-up, and clean everything until it sparkles. Which will last approximately 10 seconds until somebody track something into the house, but let’s not think about that.

Thinking…

…about all of the things that Party Boy can build for the house now that his shop is complete. 🙂

Enjoying…

…the cooler weather, onions from my garden, time spent with the kids, and a manicure – compliments of MOTS, and the prospect of summer around the corner.

Tagged

One thought on “Currently | May 15, 2014

  1. Love the idea of a currently blog post. It’s something I sometimes do in Scrapbooking but not on my blog. Great way for your readers to get to know you.

Talk to me!

