One Little Word | Discover

Time again to wrap-up my One Little Word® for the year. 2014 was the year of discovery (discover) for me. How’d I do?

discover

 

I didn’t set any real, measureable goals, which was both good and bad. The good? It left me free to really explore the word. The bad? I can’t really gauge how I did with my word.

Maybe I just needed a year to wander, and if that’s the case, then this was definitely that year. I started 2014 in Nashville, TN. There were oodles of day trips and another big trip to Maui. Definitely a year for discovering new places, new foods, and new experiences.

I also discovered a new love for my garden, which was bigger and produced a large volume of vegetables. Then I discovered that weeding is not fun and pretty soon the garden looked like a jungle.

I discovered the value of challenging yourself.

Lots of little discoveries. A few big ones. It was a year to discover. So, in that way, I guess it was a successful year.

Just for fun, I went back and looked up my OLW’s from years past:

2008 – Joy

2009 – Wonder

2010 – Reach

2011 – Focus

2012 – Create

2013 – Story

2014 – Discover

One thing really stands out to me from all of the OLW posts that I have written and it is this: Every word that I have chosen has taken on a new meaning throughout the year. It never ends up meaning what I thought it would mean on January 1.

Here’s to new words, new experiences, and a new year. Welcome 2015!


The One Little Word concept was started by Ali Edwards. You can read more about it on Ali’s Blog.

Tagged

Talk to me!

