Daily | Whole 30 Day 1

DailyJan

So, we didn’t actually start Whole 30 on the 1st. That was a judgement call based on what the Whole 30 means, and their instructions. We needed a time that we wouldn’t be tempted, there wouldn’t be any celebrations, etc. so I decided that starting the day before our anniversary and 2 days before a big date night wouldn’t be the smartest thing. I don’t need extra pressure eating out right at the beginning.

We started yesterday, January 4th. I won’t lie, it wasn’t easy starting on a Sunday. Getting up earlier to make breakfast and still get everyone out the door on time? Ugh. We did it, though. Note: I need to build in more time so I don’t come home from church to a messy kitchen. 

Breakfast

This will be an everyday breakfast. I don’t have the energy to come up with 30 different breakfasts. We may mix it up a little on Saturdays, but this will be the go-to.

Three eggs over-easy (fried in clarified butter, aka ghee – from Costco), served over a handful of spinach. One Aidell’s Chicken and Apple Sausage. One half-cup of mixed berries. I had coffee with coconut milk – gross, but I drank it – trying a new way of making it this morning. Party Boy had water with lemon.

Lunch

Tuna salad (tuna, green onions, chopped grapes) with homemade mayo. I used this method and it turned out great and was super-easy. Note: I had to use regular olive oil instead of lighter tasting because I couldn’t get the lighter oil open and I had 4 people crying and dying from hunger standing around me. I made it work. The mayo was a little strong though, so I didn’t use a whole lot in the tuna. Chief complaint: “The tuna is dry. How can something from the ocean be dry?”

Served the tuna on butter lettuce with grape tomatoes. Apple slices with almond butter. Water. Also a homemade pickle – because store pickles had high fructose corn syrup in them. What?!?

Dinner

Lemon-pepper chicken from Stupid Easy Paleo (we grilled ours), carrots, salad with tomatoes, avacado, cashews, almonds, and Tessemae’s Zesty Ranch (from Whole Foods). All was delicious.

Thoughts: My kids complained for days when I said we’d be doing this because they know that I won’t cook two meals. And then today they gobbled up everything I put out. So….

Party Boy is a little more on board. He has always equated eating better with deprivation and hunger pangs. But that is not the point of this plan. It’s about cutting out sugar and other additives. Making better food choices. So, he was full after each meal and a happy camper. He misses cheese.

I’m good so far. I am braced for the detox that I know is probably coming. I’ll update later this week.

Tagged

Talk to me!

